What is the official ruling when a batter is swings at a pitch, the ball

Need A Name

New member
hits the batter in the forearm....? and lands in fair territory... Is the ball in play and able to have the batter put out or is it just a strike to be counted against the hitter.

IF you can tell me the official rule it would help
 
According to Rule 2.0 of the MLB rulebook, a strike is a legal pitch when so called by the umpire which
(e) touches the batter as he strikes at it.
(First link below - scroll down to definition of strike)

having found that. we need to see what happens to the ball. For that, we need to refer to Rule 6.08 (b) (approved ruling)
When the batter is touched by a pitched ball which does not entitle him to first base, the ball is dead and no runner may advance.
(second link below, again, scroll down to Rule 6.08 (d) and get the approved ruling)

Conclusion - the pitch is called a strike, the ball is dead, and runners must return to their original bases.
 
He swung and if it hit him it would be a dead ball considering he swung at it and he would have a strike against him. If he didn't swing he would obviously be awarded 1st.
I wait for the rule book guys to give you the official ruleing.
 
Back
Top