In the recent playoff game, the Phillies (home team) were losing by 1 run in the bottom of the 9th. Runners on 1st and 2nd base. Batter hits a ball to the fence and both runners score as he runs to 3rd base. Should he be given credit for a double or a triple?
Since the winning run advanced 3 bases to score and the batter did run all the way to 3rd base, I think it should be a triple. But I read that he was given a double. What is the official rule for this situation?
Since the winning run advanced 3 bases to score and the batter did run all the way to 3rd base, I think it should be a triple. But I read that he was given a double. What is the official rule for this situation?