Is there timing involved with chains in the yugioh card game?

s89

New member
Joined
Mar 18, 2009
Messages
4
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Hi while playing yugioh my friends and I are constantly debating on chains. We understand how they work pretty much to the full extent, however the part that always brings up a debate is the timing of chains.

For example I activate Mystical space typhoon, my opponent does not respond to its activation. I then continue and use mystical space typhoons effect and select one of my opponents face down spell or traps out of two, the one I selected is scapegoat. Can my opponent then chain scapegoat after I have already chosen scapegoat to be destroyed by mystical space typhoon?

Other examples could be: I activate monster reborn my opponent does not respond, I then select their Caius the shadow monarch to be special summoned on my field. Can my opponent then chain with call of the haunted to special summon Caius the shadow monarch to their field after I have already chosen with monster reborn?

My final example is this: I activate dark world lighting my opponent does not respond. I select a face down spell or trap card on their field, the card I selected is magic jammer, can my opponent then activate magic jammer to negate dark world lighting after I have already activated it and used its effect to destroy magic jammer?

I know there are many more examples all similar to one another but I thought I would include three just to help clarify my question.

This is something that is really bugging me and I am eager to see some answers to end the debates between myslef and my friends.
 
"For example I activate Mystical space typhoon, my opponent does not respond to its activation. I then continue and use mystical space typhoons effect and select one of my opponents face down spell or traps out of two, the one I selected is scapegoat. Can my opponent then chain scapegoat after I have already chosen scapegoat to be destroyed by mystical space typhoon?"

Yes as the chain resolves backwards. Scapegoat will be destroyed granted but its effect will still activate as Mystical Space Typhoon destroys, it does not negate.

"Other examples could be: I activate monster reborn my opponent does not respond, I then select their Caius the shadow monarch to be special summoned on my field. Can my opponent then chain with call of the haunted to special summon Caius the shadow monarch to their field after I have already chosen with monster reborn?"

Once again yes, chain resolves backwards and traps are spell speed 2 whereas normal spells are only spell speed 1. Call will pull the target from the graveyard and Monster Reborn will fail as it has no target.

"My final example is this: I activate dark world lighting my opponent does not respond. I select a face down spell or trap card on their field, the card I selected is magic jammer, can my opponent then activate magic jammer to negate dark world lighting after I have already activated it and used its effect to destroy magic jammer?"

Once again that is correct, Magic Jammer is spell speed 3 whereas Dark World Lightning is spell speed 2. Chain resolves backwards.

These questions are very similar but there are only two ground rules you need to remember when it comes to chains.

1. They resolve backwards whereby the last card activated is the first to resolve.

2. Spell Speed 1 = Spells, Monster Effects, Spell Speed 2: Quick Play Spells, Normal Traps, Continuous Traps, Quick Play Monster Effects. Spell Speed 3 = Counter Traps.

Remember that a card cannot be chained onto something with a "higher" number than it, you can only chain onto something with the same or lower spell speed.

Hope this helped.
 
Back
Top Bottom