Question Concerning Fishing Tournament Rules?

James

New member
I heard that in order for a catch to count the leader has to be out of the water and has to be touched by the angler BY HAND. Usually there is a 6 foot leader (most leaders are 6 feet), the angler reels in the fish and touches one foot of the leader (the other 5 foot remains in the water), and it counts, since the leader was touched by hand by the angler. Lets say you catch a fish and you touch the last 30 inches of the line, and the rest of the line AND LEADER, are out of the water, and then the line breaks, but what happens if the leader is only 10 INCHES long? Does it count as a catch?
 
Back
Top