In my opinion this move was illegal, simply because the ball was not hiked. I know the NCAA rules about hiking. The center simply picked it up and handed it to the QB.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cSnew1PIYqk
Here's a link to the NCAA rulebook.
http://www.ncaapublications.com/productdownloads/FR09.pdf
The rule I'm referring to is
"Unless moved in a backward direction, the movement of the ball does
not start a legal snap. It is not a legal snap if the ball is first moved
forward or lifted"
What do you think?
The reason I ask this, is b/c the person who posted the video said "By the book, this move is legal" I disagree with that, and just wanted to hear intelligent feedback.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cSnew1PIYqk
Here's a link to the NCAA rulebook.
http://www.ncaapublications.com/productdownloads/FR09.pdf
The rule I'm referring to is
"Unless moved in a backward direction, the movement of the ball does
not start a legal snap. It is not a legal snap if the ball is first moved
forward or lifted"
What do you think?
The reason I ask this, is b/c the person who posted the video said "By the book, this move is legal" I disagree with that, and just wanted to hear intelligent feedback.