StormShadow
New member
...to activate it, MTG Magic? For Magic the Gathering, MTG, collectible card game.
Can a creature card just cast down activate an ability in which "tap" is necessary to activate it?
For instance, if I have a Llanowar Elf and I just play it down on my turn, can I tap it right after to activate its ability of "adding 1 Forest to mana pool", or do I have to wait until the next turn?
See, I thought summoning sickness only prevented creatures from ATTACKING when they are first put down on battlefield. Does this also apply to activated abilities? The rules state that you can activate the ability so long as the card is not tapped....so which is it?
Someone at FNM told me last night that I couldn't use my Elf's abilities until the next turn due to summoning sickness, but I thought that was wrong because I wasn't attacking with it, I was just tapping it to use its ability...
Who is right?
Many thanks.
Can a creature card just cast down activate an ability in which "tap" is necessary to activate it?
For instance, if I have a Llanowar Elf and I just play it down on my turn, can I tap it right after to activate its ability of "adding 1 Forest to mana pool", or do I have to wait until the next turn?
See, I thought summoning sickness only prevented creatures from ATTACKING when they are first put down on battlefield. Does this also apply to activated abilities? The rules state that you can activate the ability so long as the card is not tapped....so which is it?
Someone at FNM told me last night that I couldn't use my Elf's abilities until the next turn due to summoning sickness, but I thought that was wrong because I wasn't attacking with it, I was just tapping it to use its ability...
Who is right?
Many thanks.